Article Image Alt Text

Elections, appointments approved by Police Jury

A couple of tax renewal elections were called and a number of appointments approved when the Acadia Parish Police Jury met for their monthly meeting recently.
Bayou Mallet Gravity Drainage District is seeking renewal of a 5.04-mill tax that would generate an estimated $370,500 annually for 10 years — 2020 through 2029.
The Egan Drainage District No. 1 will be asking voters to renew a 7-mill tax expected to raise about $72,752 annually for 10 years — 2021 through 2030.
The election in the Bayou Mallet Gravity Drainage District will be held Tuesday, Nov. 3. The election for the Egan Drainage District renewal will be on Saturday, Dec. 5.
Jurors also appointed members to various drainage boards across the parish:
• Richard Gothreaux was named to the Bayou Mallet Gravity Drainage District board to fill the unexpired term of the late Allen Murphy;
• Francis Frey, Mike Habetz, Troy Lantz and Barry Lacasse were reappointed to the Iota-Long Point Gravity Drainage District board;
• Danny Wimberly, Troy Fruge, Terry Broussard, Darren Clay and Earl Garber were reappointed to the Bayou des Cannes-Nezpique Gravity Drainage District board; and
• Wallace Duplechain was appointed to the Second Ward Drainage District No. 2 board.
In other action, the jury adopted a “standardized” lease for hangar space at LeGros Memorial Airport in Estherwood.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793